You are not logged in.

#1 11-03-2015 17:22:36

g-hennux
Nouveau membre
Registered: 11-03-2015
Posts: 4

Japanese text is drawn as boxes

Hi,

I am trying to use ffDiaporama (2.1) to make a slideshow that contains Japanese text, but some of the characters are drawn as boxes only.

More concretely:
- When I input a Japanese text (say, 青い, which means "blue"), then the 青 character is printed properly, the い character becomes a box, like □. (Note that I copied that box from a special character list; when I copy-paste the box from ffDiaporama it becomes a proper い in this text field.) This happens also when selecting a proper Japanese font.
- In the font dropdown box, it seems like Arabic, Chinese, Korean etc. fonts are all displayed with correct examples, but the Japanese one only with boxes as above.

I cannot possibly think of a technical reason why only the Hiragana/Katakana characters from Japanese could break, while the (much larger) set of Kanji (chinese characters) work fine. Anyone can help me with that?

Thanks
Tobias

Offline

#2 11-03-2015 18:33:20

gerd1028
Membre
Registered: 05-09-2014
Posts: 29

Re: Japanese text is drawn as boxes

Hi,

a short search points to this:
https://trisquel.info/it/forum/katakana … rectly-qt5
so this may be a qt-related probem.

Regards
gerd

Offline

#3 11-03-2015 19:13:58

Sestay
Modérateur
Registered: 09-19-2011
Posts: 454
Website

Re: Japanese text is drawn as boxes

hello.
Try this, Edit yout text in a text editor with the font you want (Word wordpad libre office gedit or other).
Copy and paste in a text block in ffdiaporama.
I do that wen i have a long text to edit.

Offline

#4 11-04-2015 16:47:06

g-hennux
Nouveau membre
Registered: 11-03-2015
Posts: 4

Re: Japanese text is drawn as boxes

Hi Gerd,

gerd1028 wrote:

a short search points to this:
https://trisquel.info/it/forum/katakana … rectly-qt5
so this may be a qt-related probem.

I see, thank you! But... now how do I work around this? Searching for qt/Hiragana problems doesn't seem to reveal any solution...

Thanks
Tobias

Offline

#5 11-04-2015 21:05:01

gerd1028
Membre
Registered: 05-09-2014
Posts: 29

Re: Japanese text is drawn as boxes

Hi Tobias,

using this link: https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-4 … 0due%20ASC
show 13 errors related to "Hiragana" in QT and also if they are solved or not.
If you find that the Problem you described is related to any of these errors there my be a chance to fix it with upgrading to a new qt-version. But for that you have to compile ffDiaporama by yourself...

Regards
gerd

Offline

Board footer